HOME > Programme

Nobel Prize Dialogue Tokyo 2018 Programme

1. Opening
10:00-Opening Remarks
JSPS, The Nobel Foundation, MEXT
Adam Smith
2. Science and Food
10:20-Lecture “Thinking about Food from the Perspective of Autophagy”
Yoshinori Ohsumi
10:35- Panel Discussion “Can We Feed 10 Billion?” –Innovation and Sustainability-
Finn E. Kydland, Akinwumi A. Adesina, Marion Guillou, Masa Iwanaga, Moderator:Adam Smith
11:00- Conversation “Our Health and Food – Longevity, Microbiome / Bacteria”
Tim Hunt, Suzanne Devkota, Adam Smith
11:20- Farming the Sea: Tasting Cultivated Tuna
Keitaro Kato
3. Culture and Food
11:35-Panel Discussion “What We Eat and Why? Anthropological, Historical and Cultural Reasons”
Johann Deisenhofer, Claude Fischler, Stanley Ulijaszek, Moderator:Mariko Hasegawa
11:55- Interview “Space Food / Futuristic Foods”
Chiaki Mukai, Interviewer:Yuichiro Anzai
12:15- Interview “Traditional Foods and Our Culture”
Yoshiki Tsuji, Interviewer:Adam Smith
12:30-Lunch Break
4. Future Food and Our Challenges for Sustainability
13:45-Stream 1Stream 2Stream 3
1A:Food Innovation (What are “New Crops”)
Johann Deisenhofer, Kent J. Bradford, Kenichiro Itami, Moderator:Yuko Fujigaki
2A:Health (The Obesity Epidemic)
Tim Hunt, Marion Nestle, Stanley Ulijaszek, Nobuo Yoshiike, Moderator:Adam Smith
3A:Sustainability (Emerging Countries)
Finn E. Kydland, Akinwumi A. Adesina, Howarth E. Bouis, Marion Guillou, Moderator:Masa Iwanaga
14:45-Stream 1Stream 2Stream 3
1B:Food Innovation (New Agri-tech and Agri-business)
Finn E. Kydland, Yuriko Kato, Simon Pearson, Moderator:Adam Smith
2B:Health (More Rules, Healthier Lives?)
Ada Yonath, Howarth E. Bouis, Claude Fischler, Marion Nestle, Moderator: Yuko Fujigaki
3B:Sustainability (Water in the Future)
Johann Deisenhofer, Mahmoud A. Abu-Zeid, Marion Guillou, Moderator:Taikan Oki
15:35-Coffee Break
5. Towards the Future
16:05-Panel Discussion “Beyond the Disaster”
Mahmoud A. Abu-Zeid, Virginia Murray, Naoe Yakiya, Moderator:Yuko Harayama
16:25-Nobel Laureate Discussion “The Flavor of Creativity”
Johann Deisenhofer, Tim Hunt, Finn E. Kydland, Yoshinori Ohsumi, Ada Yonath, Moderator:Adam Smith
16:45-Closing Remarks
Nobel Media AB, JSPS